Meet your new executive

SPPG Alumni Network Executive

Chair:                                      Acclaimed – Alex Bednar (2013)

Vice Chair Finance:                 Acclaimed – Thomas Vogl (2012)

Vice Chair Communications: Acclaimed – Brent Barron (2011)

Vice Chair Operations:           Acclaimed – Sophie Borwein (2013)

Vice Chair Connections:          Contested – James Janeiro or Andrew Perez

Vice Chair Social:                    Acclaimed – Loulia Kochaji (2012)

Contested Positions

Vice Chair Connections: Contested

James Janeiro (2012)

The greatest strength of our SPPG community is its people. Though young, SPPG has produced class after class of accomplished alumni that are today scattered throughout the country, the continent, and the world. The job of alumni groups such as ours is to foster and grow the ties that bind us all together. As Vice-President Connections, I would drive that agenda with the energy and vigour our school deserves. My first priority in this role would be to reach out to our graduates in Ottawa and Alberta to help grow alumni chapters similar to that in Toronto. For our current students, I commit to working with school administrators to give them an opportunity to connect with alumni already in the workforce. These connections and the benefits that come with them are the next step in the development of SPPG. With your help, I will use the role of VP Connections to take our alumni network to the next level.

 

Andrew Perez (2012)

There is tremendous potential for this new role: if I’m the successful candidate, I will provide leadership in building a multifaceted alumni network that genuinely engages all alumni, in addition to acting as a resource for current MPP students looking to seek meaningful employment upon graduation.

 

I believe that I would be well-suited for this role. I maintain strong relationships with SPPG faculty and alumni, and have a genuine desire to see SPPG alumni thrive professionally, and benefit from the Network’s shared resources. I believe the Network has tremendous potential, but that we simply need an individual to champion its cause, and act as an approachable liaison for all members of the SPPG community.

 

Acclaimed Positions

Chair: Alex Bednar (2013)

I have had the pleasure of meeting many of you at various homecoming and election pub night events.  Your insights and advice were invaluable and greatly enhanced my experience as a student.  I was especially impressed that all these great events were organized by a network of volunteers.

As a recent graduate, I would be honoured if you would elect me as your Alumni Chair.  Prior work experience in Ottawa has honed my ability to coordinate events and work with teams of volunteers.  I look forward to continuing to engage and connect students, alumni and friends of the SPPG.

 

Vice Chair Finance: Thomas Vogl (2012)

I believe that I can leverage my skills in financial management as a key enabler of the Alumni Network’s central objectives (to build connections and support the School).

I lead financial monitoring at the Child Welfare Secretariat in the Ministry of Children and Youth Services, tracking the flow of funds and reporting to management.

Previously, as treasurer of the UBC Philosophy Students’ Association, I won grants for the association and organized fundraising events to support students and provide opportunities for them to learn and connect.

I believe this experience makes me an excellent candidate for the position of Vice-Chair (Finance).

 

Vice Chair Communications: Brent Barron (2012)

As Vice-Chair Communications, I would rebuild the Alumni Network website in order to allow a greater range of content and better usability. I would work to push the network’s content into whatever social media channels best suit our alumni. I’d also like to begin producing interviews with interesting alumni to highlight the range of places that SPPG has led people.

 

Vice Chair Operations: Sophie Borwein (2013)

I think that by now I have had the pleasure of meeting many of you across graduating years. For those of you I have not yet had the opportunity to meet, my name is Sophie and I am a 2013 SPPG graduate.

Now that I have graduated from SPPG, I have begun reflecting on how much of an impact SPPG—the professors, the curriculum, but mostly the other MPPs—has had on my life, and I would like to give back to the school. Having worked for over a year as an administrative assistant and coordinator at a research institute at Simon Fraser University, I believe I am well suited for the role of VP-Operations. I hope you will consider voting for me!

 

Vice Chair Social: Loulia Kochaji

I believe every kind of community is built on human relations, interactions and shared experiences. And while all of us share the experience of having been to sppg, we still need to create more links between each other to form a true unified community. Therefore, if I get elected, I will try to organize various (policy and non-policy) events to build and create this sense of belonging and camaraderie, and a sense of sharing more than just a diploma. Even though it will be about networking, it will also be about having all these different people with different paths, careers and personalities getting to know each other and having good times with people with the same interests.

Comments & Suggestions

